Free Verse

P IS FOR POTHOS

Requirement: Write about where it sits and what’s next to it. Write about this plant as you would about a new pet you’re about to take home. Ask yourself: What will it be like when it grows? How well will you take care of it? Who else will care for it? Take it home and keep a regular diary about its development.


A-Z Post: 1/3

Day One

The aesthetically pleasing to the eye,

Mother stood and watch the potho in awe,

And so did I,

In varying tints of greens – the stem in hooker’s green,

And the leaves of forest green,

We were eager to purchase it from “Home Sense”,

So then – we brought it home

Our new member…

Our newly plant potho.

One Week

Only thirty centimetres long,

Same length from the day we bought it,

The broad leaves extended out of the pot,

We had replaced the old pot from the store with a new one,

Mother had hanged the potho against the ceiling with a steel chain tied onto the hook,

Which protruded out from the two sides of the rim of the pot,

It looked fine and healthy,

However – watering it was a trouble,

Whenever we watered it, water would seep through the soil,

Fall from the bottom of the pot,

And land on the ground,

So, we had to wipe it everytime we had to quench its thirst.

One Year

It has been a long time,

It has grown to thirty-five  centimetres long,

So slow its growth, but extremely delicate,

We had achieved its survival for one year,

A great accomplishment, indeed,

Two Years

Triple the year – it has been great three years of growth,

The leaves branched out and extended to,

Sixty centimetres long,

I gazed at it – our effort to keep it growing,

Just an amazing result –  long and beautiful leaves of nature,

Motionless, yet can hear,

Just like us,

So I talk, whispering to it,

Gentle and careful,

I was only fourteen – but I had the colossal imaginations of all,

So I whispered,

As if it was a human who I eagerly was talking to,

The leaves showering in rain from my water-dipper,

As I poured it onto them,

Newly green –  but a fresh one,

It was enjoying the rain and the swallowed water.

Three Years

Too long – it has grown to one meter and a half,

A colossal length, I must say,

Looking at it was satisfying,

To see our family’s effort on it – my mother, sister, and I.

It has grown against the wall, weaving through its own stems,

Finding its way through to exceed more,

So we let it – we tied strands of yard onto the lengthy stems and and pulled it upwards,

To let it grow taller and safer against the rigid wall,

To decorate our wall with the alluring patterns of the leaves,

Intertwining with each other,

Creating a net of green nature,

Easy as a piece of cake to bend the stem and break it,

But – I would never do that,

Even if I did, I would dig a tiny hole on the same soil,

And plant the broken stem onto the new area of new growth,

Then – it would elongate with the other ones,

And reveal a chemistry of nature – a new one,

And an original one,

Now, we have three separate pothos,

Each, in different places in our home,

Revealing their beauty of green nature,

The beauty of the pothos.


This free verse poem was written based on a plant –  which are called “pothos”. These plants are extremely long in length when they are taken great care of. For now, we have three separate pothos in our home, each in different places. These are one of my favourite “green” plants I have ever kept. Pothos are a very unique plant – taking into consideration that they take a long time to grow and are very beautiful. We purchased our first potho when I was nine-years-old. Since then, my love for pothos grew more over the years as me and my family took care of it. Through this free verse poem, I have described the pothos over the day, week, and years and how it has developed as a plant and how I have a deep connection for these plants in my home. 


Image Citation: http://jenbosen.com/2016/03/houseplant-week-pothos.html

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 comments

  1. Dear Ayesha:

    Your three A-Z posts have such clarity and silent kind of beauty to them. You are very proficient at taking something simple and weaving them into poems which strike a connection with the reader. Your one about hearing was raw with emotion and detailed in a way which helped readers feel what it would be like to suddenly hear for the first time. Your story about the color red I noticed had a focus on imagery and the relationship color had with objects and I could totally see the scene in the poem in my mind. And lastly your poem about the Potho’s plant didn’t sound too simplified like just a generic nature poem about something pretty. You had such unique descriptions and gave it a kind of delicate innocence. You have such a lovely style I really can’t think of anything you could improve upon at the moment. I thoroughly enjoyed these works of yours.

    Sincerely Reegan =)

    1. Dear Reegan,
      Thank you for such a beautiful comment you gave on this post. I appreciate that you took the effort to read my poems and take the time to provide a feedback for it. Not only that, I like how you enjoyed my poems and I am delighted that you could picture the scene of the poem about the colour of red in your mind. Once again, thanks for reading my poems.
      Sincerely,
      Ayesha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>