Free Choice

Why Was I Born To Be Black?

Image result for slave hanged gif

I raised high, but looked down
A rope was tied to me now
Clutching, tightening, and the cutting of my voice was arising upon me
The faint smell of the fire urged me
To forget all the moments of glee.
My toes were felt in the dirt as I gradually was uplifted,
All I could feel was the burning of my innocence,
It touched my feet,
All I could feel was the roaring heat.
When I gazed up high,
I just wanted to go and cry.
My lungs were running out of fresh air,
This was injustice and unfair.

I recalled back,
All the moments of being strapped,
I did not care at all,
because I knew I was going to fall.
They use to whip and abuse me,
All I could do was have tears.

Now, tears are stopped,

My breath has halted,
Musings – they have been interrupted,
My neck tightened,
My soul was leaving my body,

I was free,

I longed to perish,

I was waiting to ask my goddess,

Why was I born to be black?


I wrote this rhythmic poem based on the treatment of slaves in United States. Slaves were used as personal possessions. The intention of this poem was to tell the feelings from a perspective of an innocent slave, who is being hanged. Not only that, when you are treated as a slave and you have been treated as a personal possession, they throw or recycle you out until you are no more. The reality of black slaves are even worser. Their health care, freedom, and working conditions are beyond the second-rate quality of life. If I were to be treated as a slave, this is how I would feel when I have toiled away and the result I get is just worser. That is, being hanged from my black. From all the extreme provocation of being a dark-skinned individual and experiencing the inevitable consequences of slavery, anyone would give in and lose their sense of self-identity. As a result, any innocent slave would want to question themselves of why do they inhabit the side of the disparate world of darkness. If I was a dark-skinned person, I would ask myself, “Why Was I Born Black?”.


Inspiration: The novel, “To Kill A Mockingbird” by Harper Lee

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2 comments

  1. Dearest Ayesha,

    Wow, you left me rather flabbergasted after reading this. Your poem is very powerful and incredibly important during times like these where it is seen as a crime to be anything but white. The ending definitely tugged at my heart strings and I would love to learn more about your inspiration behind this piece.

    In terms of improvement, I would only suggest to review your GUMPS.

    Thank you again for such a relevant and impactful piece.

    Love,

    Liza

  2. Dear Liza,

    Thank you for taking the time to read my poem and took the effort to leave such a lovely comment on my poem. I agree that if I took a step to tell a more deeper story to why I wrote this poem, it would have made the poem more clearer to the readers and the purpose to it. I will definitely review my GUMPS and make to sure to improve on that. I am glad you enjoyed my piece. Once again, thanks for reading my poem.

    Sincerely,
    Ayesha

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>